skip to main content

May 7, 2020

Jennifer Morgan DelMonico, Managing Partner of the law firm of Murtha Cullina, has been recognized with The School for Ethical Education’s (SEE) 2020 John Winthrop Wright Ethics in Action award.  The award presentation would have been made this week at SEE’s fourteenth-annual Character Celebration at Amarante’s in New Haven. Ms. DelMonico was nominated for her commitment to ethics in her personal and professional life and the specific support provided to Conscious Capitalism and its Connecticut Chapter. 

SEE’s President David Wangaard noted, “The Ethics in Action Award recognizes a business or community leader who demonstrates a commitment to ethics and character in their leadership.” Wangaard noted that the Ethics in Action award was named after SEE’s founder and is meant to highlight successful and ethical community leaders as examples to students in SEE’s programs.  This year’s Character Celebration was canceled due to the COVID-19 pandemic. The actual award presentation awaits the reopening of group meetings.

Ms. DelMonico has been a trial lawyer for parties in complex commercial litigation disputes and defendants in tort and product liability actions for over 20 years. She represents clients in a broad range of industries, including advanced manufacturing, technology, medical devices, and health care. Her experience running a business provides a unique insight as she assists clients with their most difficult legal challenges.

SEE’s spring Character Celebration would have also recognized Connecticut’s 2020 top Laws of Life essayists and Academic Integrity PSA producers. Ten student essayists from over 2,500 Laws of Life essay writing participants were identified by professionals who volunteered to evaluate the top essays from each school. The winning essay writers (in alphabetical order) and schools include Baylor Anderson, Simsbury High School, Kylie Ballard, Griswold Middle School, Rachel Dingley, Rham High School, Alicia Erami, Rham High School, Gabriella Gjoni, Ansonia High School, Jiali Guo, Wilbur Cross High School, Hayden Saunders, Lyme Old Lyme High School, Elizabeth Steeves, Trumbull High School, Paul Zegarek, The Glenholme School, and Jay Zimmermann, Clark Lane Middle School.

The top three winning Academic Integrity PSAs were produced by students at Watertown High School, Wilbur Cross High School, and Jonathan Law High School. SEE’s PSA contest seeks students to advocate for academic integrity with a brief video message that is broadcast in their school community.

Winning Laws of Life essays and Academic Integrity PSAs are viewable on links on each contest website page, which can be found on SEE’s website at For more information about the Ethics in Action Award or SEE’s student contests, please visit the website or contact SEE at

Related Information